Jane Marston - Allemans du Dropt
Visite du village d'Allemans du Dropt en anglais
0033(0)6 72 39 21 26 –email@example.com
Office de tourisme du Pays de Lauzun: 05 53 94 13 00
Bureau d'information touristique d'Allemans du Dropt: 05 53 20 25 59
firstname.lastname@example.org - www.paysdelauzun.com
De 2 à 50 personnes
Welcome to the Medieval village of Allemans du Dropt, located on the left bank of the river Dropt, it has an enviable position, being naturally protected by the Dropt to the North and a stream called the Jonquet to the West. This character village was founded by a Nordic tribe “Les Allamans” who occupied the region in the 6th century. Allemans dates back to 817.
There are variety of interesting places to visit, not least the Romanesque-style church which dates back to the 10th century and is renowned for the well-restored wall paintings in the interior. You will also find two ancient market Halls, two wash houses (lavoirs), a chateau (privately owned), a well restored pigeon loft (pigeonnier), an ancient mill, the river Dropt, as well as interesting little streets to meander around. Allemans was a thriving commercial centre; back in 1852 there were around 12 hotels/inns and cafes, many tradespeople, and fairs and markets were held here and it was a meeting and trading centre for the surrounding hamlets. Today there are still a good range of shops and services for the population of around 500, including a hotel and restaurant and a bar serving light meals and drinks.
Come and discover more about this charming village by joining our English guide on walk around the village. Every Tuesday morning June- September at 10.00am outside the tourist office or by appointment Jane Marston 0033(0)67239126. One-hour approx. Cost 2 euros per person (proceeds to help fund our tourist office).